• The Edge of the Sea
  • The Edge of the Sea

The Edge of the Sea

Regular price

The Edge of the Sea, Rachel Carson, Cannongate, 2021

Rachel Carson's classic trilogy comprises three volumes - The Sea Around Us (1950), Under the Sea-Wind (1941) and The Edge of the Sea (1955). The Edge of the Sea is the third and final book in the sea trilogy written by the American marine biologist.

The Edge of the Sea was a book Carson had always wanted to write. Her idea for it began while she still worked at the US Fish and Wildlife Service. She thought of it as a "field guide," and Houghton Mifflin editor-in-chief Paul Brooks had a similar idea in mind when the two first met after Carson achieved literary fame with The Sea Around Us. But as Carson visited each coastal area and began writing, the book became much more than any typical "guide book." It has all the hallmarks we now associate with Rachel Carson’s prose. Once again a scientifically accurate exploration of the ecology of Atlantic seashore, but also a hauntingly beautiful account of what one can find at the edge of the sea. She explores a tide pool, and an inaccessible cave, and watches a lone crab on the shore at midnight. Each is a memorable encounter.

This edition has an introduction written by Margaret Atwood.

Rachel Carson (1907–1964) was an American marine biologist. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy as well as the seminal Silent Spring. Her books have been credited with advancing the global environmental movement.